31
Aug
10

New Chick Alert! Introducing: Laura Colar

Hi Everybody! 

Yes, it’s been FOREVER since I’ve updated and yes, I’m going to promise to update more (but you’ve heard that all before!) What makes this time different? Well I’ve recruited a pretty fantastic chick to help me stay on my game and contribute to this fantastic little blog. I’d proud to bring  Laura Colar: (@laurlye) to Chicks Dig Sports. Laura and I work in our “real lives” together and have had many sports debates while waiting for the microwave to free up, sitting through staff meetings and getting our creative on in brainstorm sessions. The quick and dirty on Laura: Blondie, Valpo Alum, Chicago sports fanatic, Jay Cutler obsessed and gym enthusiast. Expect some great posts from her–she’s bound to give me a run for my money! Below is her first post ever…just in time for college football season! So this time folks, expect fresh content, cause damn it, there are two of us now, and well, now we are living up to the blog name ‘ChickS Dig Sports.’  Welcome aboard, Laura!! 😀 

New Chick Alert!

The Inaugural Post: 

In my opinion, it’s been a long, hot, awful summer.  It started off well, with the charmingly bearded and always mumbling Chicago Blackhawks capturing the Stanley Cup in game six of championship series. Since the day of the parade, Chicago has been a sticky, uncomfortable place both in terms of the weather and our sports teams. The Cubs have been lethargic and turned out sad performances. The White Sox have done well but the drama surrounding Ozzy Guillen’s relationship with Kenny Williams has distracted from their success and has gotten really old, really fast. Baseball in and of itself hasn’t engaged me this season, but to be fair, it’s never been the sport that gets my blood flowing. 

What does? FOOTBALL. I enjoy and appreciate the game so much, I look for ways to tie my preseason predictions into conversations where frankly, I know they don’t belong. I could watch montages of football highlights for solid days, as long as there is a steady flow of chips, guacamole and either Sam Adams or Shiner Bock. I love the Xs and the Os, the ones that I can understand anyway (I do not claim to have the intricate knowledge of an ex-player). I love the strategy, I love the heart, I love the athleticism, I love the personalities, I love the explosiveness and the unpredictability. I love that one season a player may be classified as completely washed up and the next season he proves everyone wrong and heads to the Pro Bowl. I love that football allowed a grocery clerk to become a future hall of famer. 

The summer is coming to an end and frankly, I couldn’t be happier. Give me 68 degree days with a soft breeze and orange leaves. Give me a gray Saturday morning, a cup of steaming coffee and Lee, Chris, Kirk and Desmond breaking down college games across the country and give me Sunday afternoons speeding home from church to fire up the grill and spend the next few hours flipping between games. Give me a road trip through the beautiful cornfields of Indiana to be enveloped in the school spirit at Norte Dame and take in a game at one of the most storied universities in the country. 

My name  is Laura and I love football. Join me this fall as I revel in everything that is this sport, both college and professional. It should be a good time and I can’t wait. 

Everyone make sure to swing by the comments and welcome Laura aboard 🙂 and look forward to our college preview tomorrow, which admittedly, we are getting up by the skin of our teeth!

3 Responses to “New Chick Alert! Introducing: Laura Colar”


  1. 1 Sporting Dude
    August 31, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Welcome Laura. Yes, you’re football chick! If you’re a friend of Sam, then you must be all right!

    Have you resigned yourself to the Bears ending up in last in the North?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Tweet Me!


