16
Apr
10

Big Bad Ben

Hello Folks,

So it’s been awhile since I’ve posted … my apologies. I recently started a new job (yay!) and went back east for about ten days so I haven’t had time. Lots of awesome stuff has happened in sports and lots of not so awesome stuff. So here’s my take on the Ben Roethlisberger situation. I want to say before I dive in that there is no team on the planet that I adore more than the Pittsburgh Steelers. It’s in my blood, I’m a Pittsburgh girl through and through. I would rather see the Steelers win than any of my other teams, even though I’ve already seen it twice. If the Steelers win–it’s an awesome week….if they lose it’s a terrible one. I AM A FAN.

That being said, no matter how much of a fan I am, I cannot condone the behavior by the organization in the past few weeks. The organization has been run since the dawn of time by the Rooney Family. The Rooney’s are ones that don’t put up with any players crap. They maintain that off-field conduct is as important as on-field conduct. Another thing about the Rooneys–they never wanted to spend big bucks on anyone. They let countless players (Porter, Woodson, Randle El, Faneca etc) leave because they didn’t want to pony up the dough. (Some players probably –and definitely–left for other reasons, but that doesn’t stop the fact that the Rooney’s weren’t willing to shell out the bills.)

Things started changing though a few years ago. We were due to negotiate with the best safety (ever) to play the game–my boo, Troy Polamalu. A force at USC, I don’t think anyone could predict how DOMINATING Polamalu would be on the team. A team shouldn’t consist of one player–but the Pittsburgh Steelers defense doesn’t show if our little predator isn’t on the field. So the Rooney’s, for the first time that I can ever remember, responded BIG and signed Polamalu to a 4 year deal worth slightly over $30 million. Roethlisberger’s contract shortly followed–a cool $100 million(ish) ย for ten years.

Problem is? Roethlisberger can’t stay out of trouble. He doesn’t quite seem to understand that Pittsburgh Steeler athletes are demi-gods to everyone in, around and from Pittsburgh. We don’t only like to know what you’re doing on the field, but every minutia of detail of your off-the-field life. (I can for a fact tell you that every time Hines Ward goes to P.F. Changs on the Water Front he gets two orders of crab rangoons … Am I a loser?! You Betcha!)

Ben doesn’t quite understand the pressure….or the privilege, of being the franchise quarterback for the most decorated football team in NFL history. In fact, it sometimes seems like he just pisses on it–and that’s what angers me. I haven’t heard anyone in Pittsburgh discuss ONE POSITIVE ENCOUNTER WITH HIM. He makes stupid decisions, and he acts like he’s entitled. Well, he’s not. He’s not above the moral conduct standards of the Steelers, or humanity– and I for one, hope he gets at least an 8-games suspension next season.

Santonio Holmes was a problem child–sure. You know what he got? His ass traded. He joined a long list of players that the Rooney’s don’t want to be associated with. So my point is, why be associated with Roethlisberger? I know “franchise quarterback,” “allegations not charges” blah blah blah. But listen here, the Rooney’s stayed SILENT about Ben’s issues until recently.

Why release a statement now? Because everyone from coast to coast sees how hypocritical it is … once people start crying foul about race/status/salary etc THEN the Rooney’s release a strongly worded statement–after Ben isn’t charged. Maybe it’s because I work in PR but the insincerity and timing of this statement screams saving face. I don’t believe you Rooney’s. I don’t think you had any idea that people would outcry like this and that, people in Pittsburgh are sick of Ben’s shit. Because see, we aren’t the Browns, or the Raiders, or the Cowboys…we’re the mother f’n Pittsburgh Steelers….we don’t have cheerleaders, we only have one logo on our helmet and we play smash mouth football. This media circus is NOT what we want and unfortunately, Rooneys, you chose the worst possible person to invest $100 million dollars on. Personally, and I know a lot of other people who feel this way, no amount of Super Bowl wins will ever make me a Roethlisberger fan again.

My friend Ray had an interesting blog here about the media circus with Ben. He says that the media is reporting about the allegations of Ben and drives home a very good point that these allegations were already investigated and there wasn’t enough evidence to charge Ben–therefore why rehash all of these allegations? — He articulates it MUCH better. Check out the link!

So I guess in short, what my rambling is trying to say is that–I hope Goodell punishes Ben appropriately. One interesting thing about Rog, is he doesn’t put up with shit from anyone. He lays down hard punishments in an attempt to keep a positive image. It’s now his time to have his way with Ben Roethlisberger–and I hope he lays down the law. Will it hurt our team? SURE…in the short run. Will it help in the long run? I FRIGGIN’ HOPE SO. The Rooney’s already botched their chance at telling Ben (on multiple occasions) that his conduct is not that of a Pittsburgh quarterback. Since they failed to it’s Goodell’s turn–and there is way too much pressure facing Rog for him to let Ben off with a slap on his wrist.

Do I think the Rooney’s will trade Ben? No. BUT one things for sure…he is on the thinnest of ice. If he wants to stay in trouble, that’s fine. We can trade him to St. Louis/Buffalo/Jacksonville where he waste away on a mediocre team that is so desperate for a .500 record they don’t care about off field antics. After winning two Super Bowls with the Steelers in 4 years–the roller coaster is only going to go downhill, Ben…you decide how fast.

Two quick things:

1) For those of you that want to know–Kordell Stewart is engaged (TO A GIRL!) that lives in the penthouse of my aunts apartment building in Atlanta, Ga. As he was in Pittsburgh, he is a jag about photos.

2) I have an AWESOME post coming up about a fatheads promotion! So keep an eye out!

So what are your thoughts?! I know they must be fantastically angry or in agreement. I haven’t been able to stop talking about Pittsburgh to any and every football fan lately. So let me have it people! ๐Ÿ™‚

–Sam

5 Responses to “Big Bad Ben”


  1. 1 Sporting Dude
    April 18, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Short of a Super Bowl return, Ben gets traded at the end of 2010 – 2011. The Rooney management are going to strip Ben of his franchise QB status.

    • April 18, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      I completely agree. He’ll have to win the Super Bowl to save himself. The Rooney’s have absolutely painted themselves into a corner by reserving judgement on Ben but not Santonio…thus they HAVE to trade him if they want to save face. I would absolutely die (in a bad AND good way) if we drafted a QB in the first round on Thursday. Highly doubt it’ll happen but man, wouldn’t that be something?!
      Always appreciate your comments, Pierre! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. April 21, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Hey Sam,

    thanks for checking out my blog. I couldn’t have put it better… Ben feels entitled. I remember when he was first drafted, he looked so humble and cordial… it seems like such a long time. There are talks now of trading Big Ben, thing is, we can’t seem to get a decent value for him. Check out my blog about Bradford coming to the burgh…. it could happen ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 4 Twinny
    May 2, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    What an awesome post.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Tweet Me!


