25
Mar
10

Sports Digest 3.25.2010

I’m happy to say that Spring is here! Although you may not even be able to tell in Chicago, spring doesn’t just signify the awesome changing of the physical seasons but also the changing of the sporting seasons. So here is what I’m looking forward to most in may (hint, WELCOME BACK MLB!)

Final Four/Men’s Championship

We’ve see a lot of good basketball over the season, and especially last weekend. Come April, it will be time for everyone to put their  money where there mouth is. The four best teams in the country will be left standing. Which will then provide us with three amazing games to see who ends up being the NCAA champion. (My money’s on Syracuse but, then again, isn’t it always?)

Major League Baseball

MLB, welcome back from friend. For some reason, the MLB off-season seems to drag on longer than any other. Maybe cause the league plays for a majority of the year. But I’m ready to see my cubbies win the 2010 World Series. (What? A girl can dream! :-D) But I’m most excited to go to games. There’s nothing like heading to Wrigley, grabbing a few bears and taking in a baseball game in the sunshine. Yes, Wrigley is cool when Elton John and Billy Joel are rocking it, and it’s also cool when it’s frozen over for ice skating at various points in the winter. But let’s get serious. Wrigley’s for baseball and I cannot wait to head to my first 2010 game there! (Pirates vs. Cubs, May 15). Oh, and it also marks the return of one of the most hilarious Web sites ever. http://www.isthereacubsgametoday.com/ (The rationale behind it is hilarious)

The Masters

I’m not a golf fan. I won’t watch one second of the Masters. But why am I excited? Because maybe after Tiger Woods gets his “first appearance” over with (and analyzed to DEATH before, during and after), we will finally get the media circus to die down about his personal life. He’s holding a third press conference…really Tiger? Really? I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again. Tiger Wood’s love life is absolutely none of my business. I could care less that he’s a sadistic, power-hungry, slut banging machine. I don’t give a shit what his text messages say, I don’t care how many people he’s been outside his marriage with. I never bought anything because Tiger Woods did…I don’t have kids, but I don’t know ANY kids that look up to Tiger. (If they are, maybe that’s something to look at…a golfer? Really?!) So Masters please come and go and then PLEASE can we put death to this Tiger Woods story? I’ll say it before and I’ll say it again…WHO CARES?!?!

NFL Draft

I remember the good old days back in college, when the NFL draft was one of the biggest party days of the year. We’d get a keg and watch the draft…which always took all day. The NFL draft is really awesome. I mean, who would have predicted a few years ago that the Miami Dolphins would pick Ted Ginn Jr. over Brady Quinn?! However, the changes the NFL is starting to make is driving me nuts. Cutting the clock down from 15 minutes to 10 minutes to speed things up, I could live with that. However, now the NFL is trying to market the draft as a marquee event and moved it into prime time. On a Thursday night. That’s where you lost me. Because the Saturday at Noon, fifteen minute format is what was so awesome about the draft. You could discuss potential pics and trades, you could run to the bathroom you could do all sorts of stuff. And, as a fan, fifteen minutes is the perfect amount of time to make you sweat while you’re waiting on your team’s first round pick.

The rationale behind the prime time move is that it’s the most watched night of the week. Well, DUH. Any show that’s worth anything is on Thursday night. The NFL thinks they can compete with Thursday night juggernauts? REALLY NFL?! REALLY?! List of TV Shows the NFL draft will go up against: Community, Parks & Rec, The Office, 30 Rock, Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, Project Runway, one of the NCIS’, one the CSI’s, Vampire Diaries (?), gotta be a cake boss/ace of cakes, and maybe even a No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain…just to name a few. Guess what NFL?! You’re going to lose. Because if I know one thing, a man’s NFL draft will fall to the power of his wife’s weekly McDreamy fix.

So I’m excited to see who my Steelers take, but I’m bummed that you robbed me of a semi-holiday in April, NFL.

What sporting events are YOU looking forward to in April? What did I leave off? Are you digging the NFL change?! Talk to me people…and Happy Spring! 🙂

–Sam

0 Responses to “Sports Digest 3.25.2010”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Tweet Me!


