22
Mar
10

A Preview: Wrestlemania 26

What? This is a serious sports blog, I swear! What?! Losing respect for me?! What?!

Ok so here’s the dirty little family secret. Every year since as far back as I can remember (probably the last five at least), every late March/early April, I head to down to wherever my older brother Christopher is living (Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, and this year, West Virginia) to watch Wrestlemania with my brothers and sister-in-law.

What?!

You could totally judge me. You could even not believe me when I tell you that I only watch it on Wrestlemania (It’s true…I do! That’s IT) But in reality, it’s a great reason and excuse for me to get together, bond with my brothers (and Alicia!) and party hard. Most of the action is insane, most of the men are good-looking and wear close to nothing and anything goes. So I want to be a good sister. EXCUSE ME. (My older sister Shannon REFUSES to come to these get togethers…we still love her!)  But before I continue with my preview, here is photographic evidence from the past two years that this is a tradition. (and it’s even BETTER this year since Wrestlemania falls on my birthday weekend! But I digress…)

Twinny Jordan, me and Older Brother Chris, Wrestlemania 2009, Raleigh, NC

Me, Jordan & Chris, Wrestlemania 2008, Frederick, Maryland

Me and my sister-in-law Alicia, 2008 🙂

Ok. So there’s your proof. Like I said it’s a tradition! (If you’d like to follow my lovely family members on Twitter…go ahead! (@aliciamflynn and @jrflynn86)

Most Anticipated Match: Shawn Michaels vs. The Undertaker

In a highly anticipated rematch from last year, we got “The Heartbreak Kid” Shawn Michaels vs The Undertaker. Last years match was, without a doubt, the best match I’ve seen at Wrestlemania in the past five years …. EASY. (It might even rival Hulk Hogan & the Ultimate Warrior in Wrestlemania 6) For those of you that have self-respect and don’t watch WWE. The Undertaker has NEVER lost at Wrestlemania, the only star to do so. (His streak is like 17-0 or something) So this year it’s Shawn Michaels’ career vs. The Undertaker’s streak. My bet? The Undertaker keeps his streak (it’d be awful to lose it now!) and Michael Hickenbottom (er…that would be Shawn Michaels in real life) has some other things cooking in the real world, and as we all know a ‘career match’ really means…six months off? So yes, I peg The Undertaker for this one.

Re-Match of Epic Porportions

Best Title Match: Batista vs. John Cena

Ok Listen, I don’t like John Cena. Yes, he’s a good role model, he’s mildly attractive when he smiles and the light hits him right. He’s an awful actor. But he’s also an awful wrestler (maybe because he wrestles in jean shorts…I don’t know) But, as an EXTREMELY casual fan, I can tell you every Wrestlemania match I’ve ever seen with Cena goes like this: Cena gets his ASS kicked for 98% of the match then gets a reversal, does the ‘you can’t see me’, followed by some sort of shuffling knuckle to a forehead followed by his finisher (which I can’t name for the life of me right now) and wins. Boring. Yawn. So I will have to enjoy the first 98% where he gets his ass kicked. Plus Batista has the BEST entrance of any wrestler going right now. Not familiar with it? Check it out below.

Hottest Guy in the Dumbest Match Ever: Randy Orton

Ok. I LOVE RANDY ORTON. Everything about him. I love his persona as The Legend Killer, I love him when he’s a bad guy, I love his entrance music, I love his tattoos, I love his thighs, I love his face, I love his ….. um. ok. whoa. Well I’m just gonna put a pic of him and then continue my analysis below. (Sorry Guys!)

*sigh*

Anyway, ok, so from what I hear, The Legend Killer is in a triple threat match with Ted DiBiase’s kid and Dusty Rhodes’ kid. Ew. I couldn’t care less. You can see this one coming a mile away. They gang up on Orton, then, turn on each other because see … each one wants to pin him and then Orton capitalizes. C’mon Orton, you’re better than this.

What I’m Bummed About: No Women’s Match

No built in bathroom break/beer-run/smoke break?! WTF WWE?! WTF?!

What I’m least excited to see: Bret Hart vs. McMahon

I haven’t seen Bret ‘The Hitman’ Hart in 15 years…and I’m scared to see him now. He’s gotta be tres old no? Probably has grey hair and wrinkles? Probably looks like if you suplex him too hard he’ll need hip replacement surgery?! Yikes. Some things should be left alone. Oh and I would like to say, if my younger brother died at the hands of WWE (i don’t care if it was an accident) and I got screwed over like Hart did by Vince McMahon (see The Montreal Screw Job) I would NEVER come back to the WWE for ANY amount of money. But maybe that’s just me.

Main Event: Jericho vs. Edge

Meh. Don’t care about this one too much, but my older brother Chris LOVES Edge, so I’m going with him on this one.

So that’s it folks! How bad are you judging me right now?! Who do you think will win? Anything fun in store that I neglected to mention? You’re gonna have to lower your shield and admit you watch to comment..I’d love it if you would! 🙂 Talk to me people! I’ll be tweeting live during…so if you don’t follow me now..start! @sjflynn/@chicksdigsports

Oh, and in honor of my fav memory from me and my twinny’s birthday here is a pic from our bar tour last year simply titled: Flynn’s Binge. Love you Jordy! (Even if you ARE 19 minutes younger! :-p)

me and twinny, 23


11 Responses to “A Preview: Wrestlemania 26”


  1. 1 kallie
    March 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    the flynn family never ceases to amaze me. i hope you have a wonderful wrestlemania experience this year ❤

  2. March 23, 2010 at 9:42 am

    hey heeeeeey! Can’t wait to see you on Friday!

  3. 5 Flow
    March 23, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Great post! You forgot to mention that Batista’s entrance is WAY better than witnessing Michael Phelps receive his record breaking gold medal!! Can’t wait to see you sister!

    • March 23, 2010 at 12:03 pm

      True. The phrase DID leave your mouth as Michael Phelps was getting his record-breaking eighth gold medal “I better not miss Batista’s entrance for this shit” :-D. Too funny brother! Can’t wait to see you!

  4. March 23, 2010 at 10:43 am

    I was at Wrestlemania 24 at the Citrus Bowl in Orlando 2 years ago. It was an incredible night. Crossed that off my Bucket List. I’ll never forget 74,000+ people chanting “Thank you, Ric!”

    I gotta say, for a Wrestlemania this card feels kinda light. No women’s match? No divas? WTF! I’m only looking forward to a handful of matches. Money in the Bank, Undertaker-Shawn, Batista-Cena, Jericho-Edge, Triple H squashing Sheamus. You’re right, some of these matches seem pretty predictable. But it’s Wrestlemania, so there might be a twist or two.

    Judgement: The fact you watch Wrestlemania makes you even more AWESOME!

  5. 9 Clare
    March 24, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    You are so so so soooo awesome with your wrestlemania!! Hahahaha
    Also, somehow I had no idea you had a twin brother! You are now even more awesome in my eyes!
    Oh and I hate Harem Pants, too!
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

    • March 25, 2010 at 9:45 am

      Oh Clare, YOU are so awesome! Thanks for the comment 🙂 I agree with the Harem pants…unflattering to say the least if it makes a 98 pound model look like a fatty 😉 hope you’re doing well!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Tweet Me!


