21
Mar
10

What’s Your Sports Dream?

The Sports Dream. What every fan lives for. Even a casual fan. There is nothing like when your team wins his or her respective championship. This post was inspired by Northern Iowa win over Kansas this past weekend in the NCAA tournament. What a high for every fan, alum and watcher of that game. Β In my young, almost 24-year-old life, I have been blessed to see MANY of my sports dreams come true. So much in fact, that I only have one MAJOR one left on my list (and a midsized one) It’s a pretty difficult one though. Almost impossible. So here is a run down of my achieved and hopeful sports dreams. Please make sure to hit the comments with yours!

Steelers win Superbowl XL and Superbowl XLIII

I’ve been able to see my Steelers (who are my FAVORITE team out of all my teams) win not one but TWO Superbowls. I bawled my eyes out both times. Superbowl XL I road-tripped to Detroit with five of my sorority sisters. Jerome Bettis wins in his hometown and retires. Amazing. Superbowl XLIII I blew off graduate classes to be in Pittsburgh at Carson City Saloon at 10am. Steelers win and South Side in Pittsburgh was shut down, the celebrations in the street were amazing. Everyone hugging and crying. Pittsburgh fans are the best in the world. Below are two videos: The bar singing ‘Pittsburgh’s going to the SuperBowl’ before kick-off. The bar was at maximum capacity and no one could even move! And the street celebration after.

Pittsburgh Penguins Win 2009 Stanley Cup

Lord Stanley, Lord Stanley, Bring me the Brandy! This win was SO awesome. We avenged our loss to the Red Wings in 2008, we did it without Hossa, who left for ” a better chance to win” and this was the city of Pittsburgh’s second major sports championship in four months! I watched the game in Chicago and loved every minute!

2009 Stanley Cup Champs!

Eat it, Hossa

Syracuse wins 2003 National Basketball Championship/ 2004, 2008-2009 Lacrosse Men’s Championship

Few people know that, even though I attended Syracuse for grad school, I’ve been an Orange fan all my life. It’s true! My good friend Eric (@eric_hughes) and I tell this story all the time. When I was a senior in high school in ’04, he was a junior. We had AP Statistics together and as we giggled, made fun of our teacher and played cards during class, I told him “I’m going to PSU for undergrad, but I’m going to SU for grad school, and we’ll rebecome best friends” (Eric was gunning from Syracuse for the start!) And..what do you know, five years later we met at Faegan’s on Marshall Street to re-connect and become bff’s.

Eric and I, February 2009

I tell this story because, I’ve always appreciate Syracuse and its wins. So seeing ‘Melo (and McNamera!) take them to the National Championship in ’03 was amazing! Although I’d probably appreciate a ’10 one even more being an alum now! Also, the men’s lacrosse program works so hard. I interned in athletic communications at Syracuse last spring semester, and to watch the men’s lacrosse season unfold was amazing. Those boys work so hard and, I’m proud to say are back-to-back champions (and 11 overall!) It was awesome to see it done while I was there. (and they just beat John’s Hopkins yesterday!)

'Melo in '03

I’ve been blessed to see a lot of other awesome sporting things happen: Women’s Softball being included in the Olympics, UCLA winning back-to-back softball championships in the mid 2000’s, Michael Phelps winning EIGHT Gold Medals in one Olympics, Hasim Rahman knocking out Lennox Lewis etc. etc. the list goes on.

So what do I need to see happen? TWO major things:

Penn State Nittany Lions Win a National Championship

Last time they’ve won, was 1986…two months before I was born. Womp Womp.

I want JoePa to be my Grandpa ❀

Chicago Cubs Win a World Series

I know what you’re saying. I know it’s been over 100 years. But damn it, I’ve been a fan for 14 years and I’m not giving up hope. I now live two el stops away from Wrigley Field and I can’t believe it. It takes my breath away every time I go to a game, or get a drink in Wrigley Field. I LOVE THE CUBS. and I WILL see a World Series. Note though: When I do. I will never watch another baseball game…EVER AGAIN. People have lived their entire lives and died and not seen the Cubs win. When I see it, I’m going out on top. That’s it for me. So as much as it would suck to give up baseball, it’d be worth it! Let’s Go Cubs. 2010 is our year! πŸ™‚

1908 Cubs ... the last winning team!

What are YOUR sports moments? What do you remember? What do you HAVE to see happen before you die? What’s your fondest memory? Talk to me people, I’d LOVE to hear!

12 Responses to “What’s Your Sports Dream?”


  1. March 21, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    I have been lucky enough to see a lot of my favorite teams win – the bears of 85, the Michael Jordan years and six NBA titles, I’ve seen the White Sox win – but of course I want to see the cubs win, though I fear the moment they clinch the WS, the universe will implode. I do want to see Dave Blaney win a nascar race – but I’d give all of that up just to watch my little girls pick a sport they love and play it with joy. πŸ™‚

    • March 22, 2010 at 7:55 am

      Thanks for the comment, Bob! I do think that when the Cubs win, everything will stop! I played softball for about ten or so years when I was younger…and I loved it! I still stop and watch local games when I’m walking around and catch a few at DePaul University as well. Being on a team for so many years really helped mold me into the person I am today. The biggest lesson was probably how to be a gracious loser! Now there are even more sports for young girls to get into that are awesome!(I’m thinking lacrosse!) I hope they find something they like and stick with it! πŸ™‚

  2. March 22, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I’ve had my college football team (Florida State) win two national championships in 1993 and 1999. I’ve had my MLB team at the time (1995 Braves & 2003 Marlins) win 2 World Series. I still have my own personal trophies from those triumphs; the bottles of champagne I drank afterward! But the one sports dream that I have not seen come true yet (the last time it happened was 1974, when I was 5 years old), is my beloved Miami Dolphins win the Super Bowl. Our losses in Super Bowls XVII and XIX have been virtually scrubbed from my memory. I believe it’s going to happen in the next few years. I think Tony Sparano is a very good coach, and that Bill Parcells is going about building this team the right way. (How about some receivers this year, Tuna!) The Dolphins have been my team for the longest time, since my first game at the Orange Bowl when I was 8. My life as a sports fan will be complete the day the Lombardi Trophy comes back to Miami. I’m tearing up just thinking about it!

    I’d like to see the Panthers win the Stanley Cup, too, but they are light years away from that ever happening! Maybe in this lifetime?

    Go Syracuse!

    • March 22, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      Thanks for the comment Mike! My older brother, Christopher is a HUGE Dolphins fan and he has yet to see a SuperBowl victory. He likes Tony Sparrano too, it seems that he is really whipping that club into shape. He also DESPISES Nick Saban for that stunt he pulled a few years ago.

      Funny that your two achieved sports dreams are the two that I haven’t had yet and vice versa! πŸ™‚

  3. March 22, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    My dream is to see both the Buffalo Bills and Sabres win their respective championships. I’ve been a lifetime Bills fan and really gotten into the Sabres starting with the first post-lockout year. I really enjoyed seeing the Steelers win the two SBs (second favorite team). I would also like to see the Carolina Panthers win a SB.

    That’s pretty much it for me. Great post!

    • March 22, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      Thanks for the comment Jeremy! πŸ™‚ Since I spent the last year in Syracuse, I now know tons of Buffalo fans! I don’t think it’s silly…so much as heartbreaking! I think that your Sabres have a much better chance of getting a cup before the Bills with a SuperBowl but how AWESOME will it be when both teams finally do?! All the years of heartbreak will be worth it! πŸ™‚

      • March 22, 2010 at 6:54 pm

        Ain’t that the truth. Now if we could pull off the two championships within months of each other like Pittsburgh did… wow. Just wow.

      • March 22, 2010 at 6:57 pm

        I must admit … that was the pinnacle! But, Steelers followed it up by not even making the playoffs…the Penguins are TBD, but Crosby scored the winning goal against the US. The sour always seems to balance out the sweet!

  4. March 22, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    I’ve been lucky enough to see my two favorite MLB teams, the Braves and the Red Sox win championships. I’ve see the New England Patriots, led by Tom Brady, when multiple Super Bowls in recent years. I’ve also seen Penn State take home a college football crown back in the 80’s. What I’m still waiting for? How about a CAL Bears title in either basketball or football, a San Jose Sharks Stanley Cup win…and a Golden State Warriors NBA Title.

    The only one that I see happening any time soon is the Sharks, but they typically fold once the playoffs start.

    I was lucky enough to be in Miami to watch the last ever game played at the Orange Bowl (a Miami loss to Virginia Tech). In college football, I’ve been to Big Game (CAL vs. Stanford), The Civil War (Oregon vs. Oregon State) and also USC vs. UCLA. I’d still love to see a World Series game in person and attend a Super Bowl. Those are on my bucket list πŸ™‚

    • March 22, 2010 at 9:10 pm

      I think, since you’re such a PAC-10 fan, that it’d be pretty awesome if you went to a Rose Bowl! πŸ™‚ But you’ve definitely been to your fair share of AWESOME sporting events! I’d love to attend any kind of championship game … that’d be the best! πŸ˜€

      • March 22, 2010 at 9:17 pm

        I forgot to mention that even thought they’re not my favorite team, I’d LOVE to see the Cubs win a World Series! How about a Cubs/Yankees series. That would be a ratings bonanza!

      • March 22, 2010 at 9:34 pm

        I’d DIE if I could see the Cubs win! Like I said in my post, I’d quit baseball cold turkey. If people have lived their whole lives and died and NOT seen it, who am I to keep watching after I see it?! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Tweet Me!


