18
Feb
10

Catch A Tiger By The Toe

As I’m sure you’ve heard by now, the Tiger Woods apology tour kicks off tomorrow at 11am ET. Pardon me, while I’m a little skeptical. In my non-blogging life, I work in the public relations business. Because of this, I always find it exciting when my two favorite fields, public relations and sports, cross over with such a magnitude.

As in the past, (*Ahem, Kobe*) Tiger Woods had decided that the best way to handle his…”transgressions,” is to issue a public apology. This apology will be from PGA headquarters and will simply be a statement, in front a “small group of friends” (his lingo, not mine). There will be no opportunity for anyone to ask questions. This apology comes three months after his famous car accident and right after Tiger tried to save face with some damage control by completing a stint in a sex rehab clinic in Mississippi. (of all places!)

Naturally, every media outlet on the face of the planet is reporting this and asking irrelevant questions such as will Tiger’s wife, Elin be present at the conference? What is going to say? How will it come off? I’ll tell you exactly what’s going to happen. Tiger is going to read (maybe he’ll memorize if he wants extra PR points) a CAREFULLY CRAFTED statement. One that, no doubt, has been dissected with a fine-tooth comb. It will not provide any answers that the gossip mags want to know, it will use vague terminology (i.e. i regret my “actions” that have hurt people i love) and he will say what his future is with the PGA. (Probably something along the lines of him taking  little break before coming back…can’t imagine he’ll say he’s done for good as the conference is being held AT the PGA headquarters) Basically, anyone that thinks Tiger Woods is releasing this statement for any reason other than to save face is an idiot.

I  am not here to judge Tiger Woods…but damn it, I can judge the media. The soap-opera that has ensued over Tiger Woods the past couple months is absolutely unbelievable. Why exactly is everyone shocked? Many athletes have dealt with infidelity (at large scales) in their past. Because he seems quiet and reserved? Right, I forgot, quiet guys are automatically faithful guys. Because he’s a golfer? Right, “golf nerds” don’t have a sex drive either. Because he has a gorgeous wife and family? Yea, no other athlete, celebrity, or person has thought with the wrong head at times.

Oh wait, NONE of those reasons pass muster! So why exactly do we care? I never cared from day one. In fact, I feel bad for what Tiger’s family is going through. Granted, he actions are what ultimately led to the media coverage, however the amount of media coverage is what’s really doing the damage here. Hey Star Magazine, what does it really matter if Tiger has bagged 15 other women instead of 14? Access Hollywood, do you think Elin needs to hear the text messages about how she’s a drag paraded in the media? Hey CNN, do you ever think that your stories are going to be archived for Tiger’s kids to view the huge mess daddy made when they are old enough to understand?

I really don’t care what Tiger has to say, and newsflash folks, you shouldn’t either. None of it will be genuine. Call me jaded because I work in the PR biz but it’s true. From my point-of-view, I don’t think it will do him any good, especially three months after the incident.  He’s just asking for more media attention and to continue this saga being played out in the very public eye. I don’t care if Elin is there or not, cause if she is, she’s just there to make his appearance seem better. Tiger should just post a statement on his Web site, since that’s basically all that tomorrow is going to end up being.

I think what the media should do is not react to this ‘apology’ with a media frenzy. They will but they shouldn’t. What I’m fascinated about in this whole thing is the PGA involvement in his apology. They know Tiger is their Bread and Butter, and I think their involvement will take the place of Elin. Tiger has a major sport supporting him, so we should support him too. We should forget that, without Tiger Woods, the PGA stands to lose a shit load of money. We should assume their support is kindness driven and not financially driven.  Is anybody else angry that Tiger’s people think we will really fall for any or all of this crap? In my humble, young pr opinion, Woods would have done better to schedule a 1-on-1 with Babs Walters. A, la, A-Rod and Peter Gammons. (Best handling of a scandal I’ve ever seen in sports) Would have lent a lot more cred to the whole ‘apology’ thing.

That being said, I am blogging about it, so I am contributing to the problem. What a vicious circle we have. I will continue to keep the entire Woods clan in my prayers, as I can only imagine the pain ALL of them are carrying, due to daddy’s ‘transgressions’

What do you think about the Tiger apology tour? Good move? Bad move? Any of it gonna be genuine? What is up with the PGA involvement? Talk to me people 🙂

–Sam

4 Responses to “Catch A Tiger By The Toe”


  1. 1 Sporting Dude
    February 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Fore! Play on; play through!

    Tiger should hang out with John Daly. Maybe John can give him some pointers.

    Have you bought any products because Tiger Woods has endorsed them? I haven’t. I don’t know anyone who cares who Tiger Woods beds down.

    • February 18, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      Absolutely not. But then again, I’m not silly enough to think that, if I wear the same watch that Tiger does, I’ll be a good golfer. I heard recently that due to this Tiger effect, more companies are instilling even tighter ‘morals clauses.’

  2. 3 blakederouchey
    February 18, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Here’s the thing, I thrive off reality shows and celebrity drama. It may not be the most important thing in the world, but I love it…why wouldn’t I love seeing Tiger squirm a bit because his picture perfect persona is crumbling. It makes me smile a bit.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Tweet Me!


